the ‘ghosts’ of the past

A friend asked me to create a blog. And forced nagged told me to make an article on why I did, without mentioning her as the “real, actual enforcer.” Below is exactly why (well, except the now known fact of HER influence). She’s in another ‘blogosphere’ and I especially made an account in that particular blog site just for her. Yeah. That’s how special she IS. Unfortunately, she deleted her account ’cause she made that BIG decision to participate more in real life. I didn’t buy it. I had suspicions her husband made her do it. Oh well, what do I know? I haven’t been in touch with her for like…ETERNITY! Surprisingly, I saw her today…with her baby. I hugged her and we had some fits of giggles while we talked about our ‘good ole days’. Well, we’re not actually old, we’re a year or two past two decades, but I like the sound of ‘good ole days’ ๐Ÿ˜‰ And all because of that, I remembered my forgotten account.

Sunday, October 28, 2012

This day is a Sunday. I’m writing this to remember how it’s been in case the future me wonders about it. I learned a lot from church today. I attended mass with my parents and my brother. I think the priest is newly assigned to the parish since it’s the first time I saw him or, maybe not. Anyway, the gospel is about a blind man of great faith whom Jesus healed, so the priest’s homily is mostly about being blind either physically or spiritually. These are his key points: (1) Some of us are spiritually blind. We see but we refuse to see; (2) We watch evil in front of us as if it’s a movie. We see injustice. It bothers us, yet we do nothing; (3) We do evil things (ex: lying) naturally like putting on our slippers as we leave home; (4) Sometimes we fail to discern what’s good and what’s evil; and lastly, my favorite (5) Sleeping is an anticipation to death.

You might be wondering how the last one ended up with the others. It seems out of place, right? Apparently, it is. Actually, it was the first thing the priest imparted. I just wrote it last since it’s my favorite (save the best for last ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) He greeted us after he read the gospel but only a few replied, not to mention without enthusiasm. Plus he could see the others dozing off. And so he dropped that bomb thought and we all laughed (well maybe not ALL of us, just most. Some giggled, some just smiled, and some remained apathetic -_-). Me, I just wondered and smiled to myself. I was thinking, oh hell, I sleep a lot lately >.<.

This post is not entirely about the mass so let’s move on. I decided to clean my bedroom. I don’t know what is it about cleaning that makes me end up reading about everything I am about to throw or keep (and it happens every time!), so I spent half of the morn and the entire afternoon locked up in my bedroom cleaning (and inhaling dust, pft). I came across my high school books and other stuffs. And yes, I remembered those carefree days. To me, reminiscing is always a part of of cleaning. I brood over my classmates and how much I miss them. It has been five years since we graduated and pursued different courses in college yet it feels like yesterday. I wonder where they are now and if we’ll ALL be together in a room (or any particular place) again. And then I remembered my friends in college too (they’re another story, I miss them more).

Before tears fall, I think I should end this. Oh but before that, I’ll write the reason I created a blog in the first place. It’s mostly for escaping boredom. Writing, aside from reading, is my favorite pastime. It serves as a diversion, sometimes, from crying when I don’t really feel good about things. It helps me get a hold of my thoughts (just some of them ’cause a lot of them escapes me out of thin air) sometimes when my mind races. It’s somewhat a way of recording what happens when and where with who. And of course as some things to read in the future in case I decide to look back. Therefore, it’s for the future me.ย  Hmmm.. just for something to haunt me ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 thoughts on “the ‘ghosts’ of the past

  1. June says:

    or something to remind you just in case you start forgetting almost everything…..even the little joys. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a comment